Employer Nomination Scheme


Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS) (subclass 186) is for the foreign skilled workers, who wish to work in Australia. The two step procedure for this visa involves nomination by an authorized employer of Australia and later lodging an application under nominated stream.


An individual willing to avail this visa has to fulfill the following requirements:

  • Nominated by an authorized employer of Australia
  • Age must be within 50 years
  • Satisfy the requirements of English, qualifications and skills
  • File applications under the stream for which one has been nominated

What are the Types of Employer Nomination Scheme?

ENS has three streams namely the 'Temporary Residence Transition stream', the 'Direct Entry stream' and the 'Agreement stream'. 

1. Temporary Residence Transition stream: This stream is applicable for those who were employed for two years under a subclass 457 visa in the same occupation through their nominating employer , who has submitted a valid nomination with the department under this category and willing to offer permanent position in that occupation.

2. Direct Entry stream: This stream is valid for those, who have lodged their application prior to 01 July 2012 and nominated by their employer under this stream. Besides, worked for a brief period of time or has never worked in Australia .Moreover temporary residents, who have not qualified for Temporary Residence Transition stream fall under this stream.

3. Agreement stream: people sponsored by an employer by means of agreement of labor fall into this category.

Privileges of holding an ENS

  • Residence in Australia for an indefinite period
  • Work as well as study in Australia
  • Medicare enrollment
  • If qualified, eligible to apply for Australian citizenship
  • Qualified to sponsor eligible relatives for permanent residence
  • Applicable from the date of issue , qualified to travel to and from Australia anytime within a valid duration of five years

Quick Enquiry

free hit counters